That’s what you get….

I’ve heard my daughter telling my son all day, “that’s what you get.” He falls, he cries, he closes his finger in the door…. Anything, everything, that’s what he gets. 

I started thinking about this phrase, and I realized I taught this to her. I’ve been trying to teach her there are consequences for her actions. Maybe I’m doing it wrong, maybe not (it’s not like she came with an instruction books).  I don’t exactly say, “that’s what you get.” To her, I usually explain that she did A, so because of that, B happened. There are good consequences, bad consequences, and neutral ones. 

For every action there’s an equal (and opposite reactions)…. It’s a science thing, but works in real life too. 

I don’t know if I’m making all the right choices, but I own up to them. 

I may not be the best mom, but I’m trying my best. 

Leave a Reply

