Life Ain’t Always Beautiful

“Life ain’t always beautiful, but it’s a beautiful ride.” – Gary Allen (link to music video)

This song have been out since 2006, as a country music fan, and a Gary Allan fan I’ve heard it many times. Today was the first time I watched the video. This song is one of many he sang and wrote after his wife commuted suicide. You can see a change in his music when you compare the before and after. I looked the video up when I remembered the quote I wrote at the beginning. I wanted to share it. 

Over the last 10 years I’ve been through many phases in my life, and this song fits in with each and every one of them. Every time I’ve sat down and listened to it I’m brought to tears. I remember his heartbreak (the loss of his wife), and realize that whatever I’m going through pales in comparison to that. I’ve lost loved ones, but to lose someone by their own choice is devastating. 

Life isn’t easy, and when you start to think it is, hold on because that’s where that beautiful ride part comes in. Hold on tight, because you never know what’s around the corner. 

I don’t even remember what I was going to write about when I originally started this post, so I’ll spare you the rambling. I will, though, leave you with the words to that song:

Life ain’t always beautiful

Sometimes it’s just plain hard

Life can knock you down, it can break your heart
Life ain’t always beautiful

You think you’re on your way

And it’s just a dead end road at the end of the day
But the struggles make you stronger

And the changes make you wise

And happiness has it’s own way of takin it’s sweet time
Chours

No, life ain’t always beautiful

Tears will fall sometimes

Life aint always beautiful

But it’s a beautiful ride
Life ain’t always beautiful

Some days I miss your smile

I get tired of walkin all these lonely miles
And I wish for just one minute

I could see your pretty face

Guess I can dream, but life don’t work that way
But the struggles make me stronger

And the changes make me wise

And happiness has it’s own way of takin it’s sweet time
No, life ain’t always beautiful

But I know i’ll be fine

Hey, life aint always beautiful

But it’s a beautiful ride

What a beautiful ride

Giving credit where credit is due

Leave a Reply

