A quick note to 2 people who I do not know…

First a little background. This happened a few days ago (Tuesday and today is Friday) and I thought & prayed long and hard about writing about this. 

My children, mother in law, and I spent the beginning of this week in Disneyland. Tuesday morning we had breakfast at the Denny’s next to our hotel. My son, who’s 1, was having a rough time (to say the least) and was rather vocal that morning. The man in the booth next to ours said he was annoying and he wanted me to shut my kid up (I don’t remember his exact words). The server was there at the time and moved us to another table, I went in to fight mode and wanted to leave, but who wins in that situation Denny’s didn’t do anything wrong, it’s not their fault their customer is an asshole. Anyways, we moved and as I was sitting there I just started crying, uncontrollable deep from the bottom of my heart crying. I went outside trying to get myself together, and came back in. I was met by my waitress who just smiled at me, handed me some tissue and gave me a little rub on my shoulders. I started crying again. I went to go outside again, this time I took a detour and said my peace to the man. I told him that my son is just a baby, and don’t you think if I could stop him I would? And, did he think I liked hearing my son be that noisy? His friend apologized to me, but I responded with why are you apologizing, it was him who ruined my day and possibly my vacation. And walked away. 
My first note is to the man who created this situation:

Sir, I forgive you. I understand that some people don’t like noisy places and sometimes you just can’t keep it together and speak without thinking. I thought long and hard about whether or not you have children, to figure out if you’ve been there before; you know on vacation with a 1 year old who’s teething and was stuck in a stroller and car seat the last 2 days. Anyways, I hope that in the future when you want to say something to a mom about their child you think about where you are. Denny’s is family friendly, and add in that you’re across the street from Disneyland, you’re bound to find happy kids, sad kids, excited kids, tired kids…. All of whom will be making some sort of noise. Signed, Me
My other note is to the woman who was walking by on her way to work in the park, and stopped to give me a hug. This was on my second trip outside to attempt to calm down. She walked by, saw my crying with my son on my lap, and turned around to check on me…

Dear ma’am, I am so sorry I did not catch your name, your jacket was covering your name badge. Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to make sure I was okay. Your love showed me that there’s still good in this world. I did stop crying, and went back inside.  Later on I thought about you and smiled. I meant to stop by the restaurant you worked in like you suggested but ran out of time, my daughter is 4 and we wanted to make the most out of our last day there. We didn’t stop moving once. Again, thank you for your kindness. I’m working on finding out your name so I can give you credit where credit is due. I hope you have a blessed and wonderful day. XOXO, Me. 

We are all home now, and despite Tuesday morning debacle, we had a wonderful trip. We even went to the bibbidi bobbidi boutique and dressed my daughter up like Cinderella (with Caitlynn’s sense of style). I love my family, I love my life. Some people need to think before they speak, but you can’t hold that against them. 

Leave a Reply

